CMS Calendar

2016-2017 Academic Year

Tuesday, August 30 CMS Welcome Picnic at Cooper Park
Tuesday, September 6 First day of class for returning students (school closes at 12:45pm)
Wednesday, September 7
through and including
Friday, September 9
Transition visits for new students begin (school closes at 12:45pm)
Monday, September 12
through and including
Friday, September 16
Transition visits for new students continue (12:45pm dismissal for new students, 3pm dismissal for returning students)
Monday, September 19 Regular schedule commences (Extended Day resumes)
Wednesday, September 28 Room A's Back to School Night (school closes at 3pm)
Thursday, September 29 Room B's Back to School Night (school closes at 3pm)
Friday, October 7 Faculty development (school closes at 12:45pm)
Monday, October 10 Columbus Day (school closed)
Monday, October 31 Halloween (school closes at 12:45pm)
Friday, November 11 Veterans Day (school closed)
Wednesday, November 23
through and including
Friday, November 25
Thanksgiving Recess (school closed)
Friday, December 2 Faculty pre-conference meetings (school closes at 12:45pm)
Wednesday, December 7 Faculty pre-conference meetings (school closes at 3pm)
Thursday, December 8
and
Friday, December 9
Parent-teacher conferences (school closed)
Thursday, December 22 Start of Winter Recess (school closes at 3pm)
Friday, December 23
through and including
Monday, January 2
Winter Recess continues (school closed)
Monday, January 16 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (school closed)
Monday, February 20
through and including
Friday, February 24
Midwinter Recess (school closed)
Friday, March 24 Faculty development (school closed)
Friday, April 7 Start of Spring Recess (school closes at 3pm)
Monday, April 10
through and including
Monday, April 17
Spring Recess continues (school closed)
Friday, April 28 Faculty pre-conference meetings (school closes at 12:45pm)
Wednesday, May 3 Faculty pre-conference meetings (school closes at 3pm)
Thursday, May 4
and
Friday, May 5
Parent-teacher conferences (school closed)
Friday, May 26 Faculty development (school closes at 12:45pm)
Monday, May 29 Memorial Day (school closed)
Wednesday, June 21 Last day of class (school closes at 12:45pm)

What Are Transition Visits?

Before starting their first day at CMS, each child will partake in a transition visit for 45 minutes to an hour. During this visit, children will meet one-on-one with their teachers in the classroom. This allows parent and child to become familiar with the classroom before their first day of school.