CMS Calendar

Summer at CMS 2018

Monday, July 9 First day of Summer at CMS
Friday, August 24 Last day of Summer at CMS

2018-2019 Academic Year

Tuesday, August 28 CMS Welcome Picnic at Cooper Park
Tuesday, September 4 First day of class for returning students (school closes at 12:45pm)
Wednesday, September 5
through and including
Friday, September 7
Transition visits for new students begin (school closes at 12:45pm)
Monday, September 10
through and including
Friday, September 14
Transition visits for new students continue (12:45pm dismissal for new students, 3pm dismissal for returning students)
Monday, September 17 Regular schedule commences (Extended Day resumes)
Wednesday, September 26 Room A's Back to School Night (school closes at 3pm)
Thursday, September 27 Room B's Back to School Night (school closes at 3pm)
Friday, October 5 Faculty development (school closes at 12:45pm)
Monday, October 8 Columbus Day (school closed)
Thursday, October 11 Curriculum Night (school closes at 3pm)
Wednesday, October 31 Halloween (school closes at 12:45pm)
Monday, November 12 Veterans Day (school closed)
Wednesday, November 21
through and including
Friday, November 23
Thanksgiving Recess (school closed)
Friday, November 30 Faculty pre-conference meetings (school closes at 12:45pm)
Wednesday, December 5 Faculty pre-conference meetings (school closes at 3pm)
Thursday, December 6
and
Friday, December 7
Parent-teacher conferences (school closed)
Friday, December 21 Start of Winter Recess (school closes at 12:45pm)
Monday, December 24
through and including
Tuesday, January 1
Winter Recess continues (school closed)
Monday, January 21 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (school closed)
Monday, February 18
through and including
Friday, February 22
Midwinter Recess (school closed)
Thursday, March 21 Faculty development (school closes at 12:45pm)
Friday, March 22
and
Monday, March 25
Faculty development (school closed)
Thursday, April 18 Start of Spring Recess (school closes at 3pm)
Friday, April 19
through and including
Friday, April 26
Spring Recess continues (school closed)
Friday, May 3 Faculty pre-conference meetings (school closes at 12:45pm)
Wednesday, May 8 Faculty pre-conference meetings (school closes at 3pm)
Thursday, May 9
and
Friday, May 10
Parent-teacher conferences (school closed)
Friday, May 24 Faculty development (school closes at 12:45pm)
Monday, May 27 Memorial Day (school closed)
Wednesday, June 19 Last day of class (school closes at 12:45pm)

What Are Transition Visits?

Before starting their first day at CMS, each child will partake in a transition visit for 45 minutes to an hour. During this visit, children will meet one-on-one with their teachers in the classroom. This allows parent and child to become familiar with the classroom before their first day of school.