CMS Calendar

2018-2019 Academic Year

Wednesday, June 19 Last day of class (school closes at 12:45pm)

Summer at CMS 2019

Monday, July 8 First day of Summer at CMS
Friday, August 23 Last day of Summer at CMS

2019-2020 Academic Year

Tuesday, August 27 CMS Welcome Picnic at Cooper Park
Tuesday, September 3 First day of class for returning students (school closes at 12:45pm)
Wednesday, September 4
through and including
Friday, September 6
Transition visits for new students begin (school closes at 12:45pm)
Monday, September 9
through and including
Friday, September 13
Transition visits for new students continue (12:45pm dismissal for new students, 3pm dismissal for returning students)
Monday, September 16 Regular schedule commences (Extended Day resumes)
Wednesday, September 25 Room A's Back to School Night (school closes at 3pm)
Thursday, September 26 Room B's Back to School Night (school closes at 3pm)
Friday, October 11 Faculty development (school closes at 12:45pm)
Monday, October 14 Columbus Day (school closed)
Thursday, October 17 Curriculum Night (school closes at 3pm)
Thursday, October 31 Halloween (school closes at 12:45pm)
Monday, November 11 Veterans Day (school closed)
Wednesday, November 27
through and including
Friday, November 29
Thanksgiving Recess (school closed)
Friday, December 6 Faculty pre-conference meetings (school closes at 12:45pm)
Wednesday, December 11 Faculty pre-conference meetings (school closes at 3pm)
Thursday, December 12
and
Friday, December 13
Parent-teacher conferences (school closed)
Friday, December 20 Start of Winter Recess (school closes at 3pm)
Monday, December 23
through and including
Friday, January 3
Winter Recess continues (school closed)
Monday, January 20 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (school closed)
Monday, February 17
through and including
Friday, February 21
Midwinter Recess (school closed)
Friday, March 13 Faculty development (school closed)
Thursday, April 9 Start of Spring Recess (school closes at 3pm)
Friday, April 10
through and including
Friday, April 17
Spring Recess continues (school closed)
Friday, May 1 Faculty pre-conference meetings (school closes at 12:45pm)
Wednesday, May 6 Faculty pre-conference meetings (school closes at 3pm)
Thursday, May 7
and
Friday, May 8
Parent-teacher conferences (school closed)
Friday, May 22 Faculty development (school closes at 12:45pm)
Monday, May 25 Memorial Day (school closed)
Thursday, June 18 Last day of class (school closes at 12:45pm)

What Are Transition Visits?

Before starting their first day at CMS, each child will partake in a transition visit for 45 minutes to an hour. During this visit, children will meet one-on-one with their teachers in the classroom. This allows parent and child to become familiar with the classroom before their first day of school.